Visit the last remaining building which formed part of a temporary town built in 1906 to house the workforce to build the Immingham Dock.
Explore the history of Tin Town and experience what it would be like to live in a building made of tin and wood over 100 years ago.
It all started when Grimsby needed more dock capacity, so it was decided to build a new dock near Immingham.
Immingham was sparsely populated at the time just 241 people in 1901 and to build the dock it needed many construction workers so a number of dwellings were built but this was not enough, so an enterprising local businessman called Sidney Chambers bought some land in the Humberville Rd area and the whole town started to appear.
All of the buildings were constructed of a timber frame and covered by corrugated iron, so it was not long before it was nicknamed “Tin Town” and the rest, as they say, was history.
Immingham Tin Town Heritage Centre is free entry and donations can be given at the door.
Click or tap here to find out more.